Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger HopI’m delighted to be taking part in this week’s Book Blogger Hop, although I probably signed up waaayy too late. Anyway, this weeks question asks;

“If you find a book that looks interesting but is part of a series, do you always start with the first title?”

Always, without fail. If you miss the first books you’re going to miss a great deal of character development, not to mention back story. There are some authors who make it a little easier to jump in mid series. An author who comes to mind is Charlaine Harris with her Sookie Stackhouse series (which I’ve read all of!). Although it would be best to read the series from the beginning, at the start of the novels she usually manages to recap some of the major plot turns of the previous book, or she mentions how a new character came to be involved with the series. Not only is that helpful for first time readers, but it  jogs my memory as it’s usually been a year since I read the last book.

This entry was posted in Book Blogger Hop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Blogger Hop

  1. hiya fellow hopper!

    its funny you should mention the sookie stackhouse series, as I didn’t read the 1st book until I’d already read the 4th or 5th. There is definitely a lot of recapping of the plot, but I agree you do miss out on a lot of major character development and some of the more intimate details!

  2. Susan says:

    I have to read series in order too. It makes me nuts to try to jump in after the story has already started, or to miss a part in the middle.
    How exciting to be in Mexico! What a great experience.

  3. Jo says:

    I love that Charlaine does that — it’s always helpful, especially if it’s been a while since I read the last book. 🙂

  4. I HAVE to read series’ in order. I literally cannot read them out of order. Yes, I may have a *touch* of OCD 🙂

    Glad to have found you via the Hop!

Leave a Reply

