Booking Through Thursday

Who would you rather borrow from? Your library? Or a Friend?

(Or don’t your friends trust you to return their books?)

And, DO you return books you borrow?

Okay, I’ll admit it, I’m bad about borrowing books. There have been occasions where I’ve lost library books (but to be fair I’ve lost a lot of my own, as well). My fines at the library get so bad that sometimes I have to pay them in installments. However, I love the concept of libraries. There’s never any excuse not to read while they still exist. Imagine, a place where they let you take home things for free and all they ask of you is to bring them back in one piece. Amazing.

As for lending and borrowing amongst friends and family, that’s tricky. I really don’t offer to lend people books anymore because I tend to never see them again (the books, not the friends!). I also dislike borrowing books because there’s a chance I won’t like it which makes for some awkwardness. This happened when I read one of my brother’s favorites, Dune. I detested it. However, I make exceptions for those who have similar reading tastes as me, such as my best friend with whom I agree about pretty much anything literary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

